Nas – Illmatic Vinyl


Out of stock

Categories: ,

Nas – Illmatic was actually a slow-burn, which might surprise fans that have come to its genius more recently. Despite an unheard-of “5 Mics” in The Source – despite an unwritten rule of never awarding classic status to debuts – it didn’t go gold until early 1996, and didn’t hit platinum status until late 2001. But when you dive deeper that shouldn’t be a shock: like Black Moon and Wu-Tang’s debuts, it was a dark, hard record, made for heads in New York, not teeny-boppers in Des Moines. There were no dance beats, no crossover love songs. Just boom-bap and rhymes, skills and heart.

1. The Genesis
2. N.Y. State Of Mind
3. Life’s A Bitch
4. The World Is Yours
5. Halftime
1. Memory Lane (Sittin’ In Da Park)
2. One Love
3. One Time 4 Your Mind
4. Represent
5. It Ain’t Hard To Tell

Weight 280 g
Dimensions 31 × 31 × 1 cm