Flip (Texta) – Experiences Vinyl + 7inch


Availability: Only 2 left in stock


As instrumental HipHop albums seem to be at an all-time high, ranging from so called lo-fi aesthetics to progressive sounds with electronic vibe, Flip, one of Austrian HipHop’s godfathers and OGs on the boards has finally dropped an instrumental album on his own. The title “Experiences“ has been chosen not without reason as it both reflects the personal experiences the artist has gone through in his 25 years plus career but also hint the influences and musical aspects that went into this album.

Flip has tried to give insight into his musical influences that began in the 80ies with groups like Public Enemy or EPMD into the 90ies era with sounds ranging from Native Tongue territory to a DJ Premier or Pete Rock or the D.I.T.C. producers, when he started making beats on his own for his rap group Texta. You can hear links to other production wizards like J Dilla, Hi-Tec or Madlib that changed the sampling techniques post 2000 with albums like Donuts, Hi-teknology or Madvillain. So yes, „Experiences“ is sample-based but further developed by Flip with original basslines, keys, guitar riffs played by the producer himself.

Classic Black Vinyl plus the limited 7inch Vinyl with 2 Songs: Sadat X & Fokis – Live
and the ONYX – Ringolivio (FLIP Remix)


01. Friday Live At Home

02. Natives Grooves

03. Hold The Vibe

04. Cruzin At 1am

05. And Right Now?

06. Sit Back And Listen

07. I Thought You Were Ok

08. Music Should Be Funky

09. Sundancing

10. What Are We Doing

11. Surprising Motives

12. Sunrise At Five

13. The Doodoo

14. About That Low End

15. What Can I Do

Weight 280 g
Dimensions 31 × 31 × 1 cm