Masta Ace – MA DOOM: Son Of Yvonne Vinyl


Availability: Only 1 left in stock


Repress! Following the success of two collaborative releases (EMC “The Show” / 2008 and Ace & Edo G “Arts & Entertainment” / 2009), Masta Ace joins forces with the metal faced MF Doom for Son of Yvonne, a highly personal concept album that celebrates the life and legacy of Ace’s recently departed Mother. Like his 2004 landmark Disposable Arts, Son of Yvonne is meticulously constructed with stories, settings, and characters that resonate with flesh and bone humanity. Interstitial vignettes provide a thematic backbone to the experience, and each track complements and completes the previous to form a narrative whole: a sometimes visceral, sometimes nostalgic slice of Ace’s young life in Brownsville, Brooklyn. Entirely underscored by MF Doom’s iconic Special Herbs instrumentals, Son of Yvonne features the Juice Crew general Big Daddy Kane, new comers Pav Bundy (The Bundies), Reggie B and even MF Doom on the mic.

It’s Masta Ace’s no frills flow, however, that looms largest above the dusty samples and digger loops that define Doom’s production. Ace’s photo-realistic rhymes about stick-up kids, spraycan artists and wack emcees add extra gravity to his already celebrated reputation as “truly an underappreciated rap veteran and underground luminary” (Allmusic Guide). Like Eminem recalls in his 2008 autobiography The Way I Am, “Masta Ace had amazing storytelling skills. His thoughts were so vivid.”

01 D Ski’s Intro
02 Ninteen Seventy Something
03 Son of Yvonne
04 Da’Pro
05 Store Frontin’
06 Me and My Gang
07 Crush Hour feat. Pav Bundy
08 Think I Am feat. Big Daddy Kane &
09 Fresh Fest Reggie B
10 Hoe-Tel Leftovers
11 Slow Down
12 Home Sweet Home feat. Pav Bundy
13 Dedication
14 I Did It
15 In Da Spot feat. Milani The Artis
16 Outtakes

Weight 410 g
Dimensions 31 × 31 × 1 cm